Feb 23, 2013

Awaiting the Oscars: The ‘Big Five’ Academy Award Winners ever

Three films have received the so-called ‘Big Five’ Academy Awards. The ‘Big Five’ Awards are those for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and screenplay — either Best Adapted Screenplay or Best Original Screenplay. This list is current as of the 85th Academy Awards nomination ceremony held on 24 February 2013.

This three winners were:


It Happened One Night (1934)

It-Happened-One-Night-1934image source

It Happened One Night is a 1934 American romantic comedy film with elements of screwball comedy directed by Frank Capra, in which a pampered socialite (Claudette Colbert) tries to get out from under her father's thumb, and falls in love with a roguish reporter (Clark Gable). The plot was based on the August 1933 short story Night Bus by Samuel Hopkins Adams, which provided the shooting title. It Happened One Night was one of the last romantic comedies created before the MPAA began enforcing the 1930 production code in 1934. In spite of its title the movie takes place over several nights.

At the 7th Academy Awards for 1934, It Happened One Night became the first film ever to win the "Big Five" Academy Awards. Also, It Happened One Night was the last film to win both lead acting Academy Awards, until 1975's One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest also won both lead acting awards. [link] [imdb]

Award Winner
Best Picture Columbia Pictures (Frank Capra and Harry Cohn)
Best Director Frank Capra
Best Actor Clark Gable
Bes Actress Claudette Colbert
Best Screenplay Robert Riskin


One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (1975)

One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nestimage source

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is a 1975 drama film directed by Miloš Forman and based on the 1962 novel One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey.

The film was the second to win all five major Academy Awards (Best Picture, Actor in Lead Role, Actress in Lead Role, Director, and Screenplay) following It Happened One Night in 1934, an accomplishment not repeated until 1991 by The Silence of the Lambs. [link] [imdb]

Award Winner
Best Picture Michael Douglas and Saul Zaentz
Best Director Miloš Forman
Best Actor Jack Nicholson
Bes Actress Louise Fletcher
Best Screenplay Laurence Hauben and Bo Goldman


The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

The-Silence-Of-The-Lambsimage source

The Silence of the Lambs was released on February 14, 1991, and grossed over $272 million. It was the third film to win Academy Awards in all the top five categories. It is also the first Best Picture winner widely considered to be a horror film, and only the second such film to be nominated in the category, after The Exorcist in 1973. The film is considered "culturally, historically or aesthetically" significant by the U.S. Library of Congress and was selected to be preserved in the National Film Registry in 2011. [link] [imdb]

Award Winner
Best Picture Edward Saxon, Kenneth Utt, Ronald M. Bozman
Best Director Jonathan Demme
Best Actor Anthony Hopkins
Bes Actress Jodie Foster
Best Screenplay Ted Tally

See also:


You Might Also Like:



Post a Comment